top of page

BG Tampines Rovers - A Rich History

The club was formed more than 75 years ago when a group of football enthusiasts came together to form a football team. Yet, back then, they were not known as Tampines Rovers. under a revolving door of aliases. The team played as Belvedere Youngsters, Dynamite Youngsters, Serangoon Youngsters and Serangoon Association but nothing stuck.


Then in 1951, the club registered as Tampines Rovers with the Singapore Amateur Football Association (SAFA). Since then, the name has remained unchanged and the club has become one of the most successful football teams in Singapore's history. 

However, the journey there was not smooth sailing. For most parts of the 1950s and 1960s, the club was yo-yo-ing between the second and third divisions of the SAFA Leagues. It was during the 1970s that the club began to find sustained success. 1975 saw the club finish the league as unbeaten champions. Four years later, they would emerge as First Division champions. They would go on to win the 1980 and 1984 titles as well and remained a largely formidable side for the remainder of the 80s and 90s.


In 1996, the club would join the newly formed S.League and in the years that followed, the club reinforced its prowess with magnificent displays.

The 2000s marked the Galacticos era of the Stags, which many fans remember fondly. Under Vorawan Chitavanich, the club amassed a squad filled with stalwarts like Nazri Nasir, Noh Alam Shah, Sead Muratović, Rezal Hassan and countless others. Together, they clinched Tampines Rovers's first two S.League titles in 2004 and 2005. During the Vorawan era, the Stags would also claim 3 Singapore Cups and the 2005 AFF Club Championship.

The club would go on to win three consecutive S.League titles from 2011 and 2013 with yet another star-studded cast. Players like Mustafić Fahrudin and Aliff Shafaein, who were part of the 2004 and 2005 winning sides, were joined by the likes of Aleksandar Duric, Benoît Croissant, and Jamil Ali. However, after their consecutive title victories, the Stags would experience a barren run for the next six years.

 That changed in 2019. Under the stewardship of Head Coach Gavin Lee, the club clinched the 2019 Singapore Cup in a 4-3 victory over Warriors FC. The Stags added a Charity Shield to their trophy cabinet and crucially finished runners up in the league the following season. While they were denied the title on the final day of the season, they managed to qualify for the 2021 AFC Champions League season, making them the first team from Singapore to do so since 2010. 

We are ready to forge a new #EPIC in the club's history.

Are you?

bottom of page